The Commissioner for Environmental Sustainability is an independent statutory office, reporting on Victoria's environment.

Working with Victorians, the Commissioner seeks to enhance knowledge and understanding of issues relating to the social, economic and environmental aspects of an ecologically sustainable future for our state.

 Our Minister, The Hon. Ryan Smith MP, Minister for Environment and Climate Change, Minister for Youth Affairs.

As the Victorian State election will be held on Saturday 29 November 2014, the Victorian Government has assumed a caretaker role from 6pm, 4 November. During the caretaker period, content will only be added to this website in accordance with the caretaker conventions.

Dr Gillian Sparkes: Victoria’s next Commissioner for Environmental Sustainability

Dr Gillian Sparkes has been appointed as Victoria’s next Commissioner for Environmental Sustainability.

The Minister for Environment and Climate Change Ryan Smith announced the appointment on 25 June.

Dr Sparkes was appointed for two years from 1 July 2014.

While the Commissioner establishes the new office, this website and communications from the Commissioner will undergo a transition period. We thank you for your patience. Reports and publications from the previous Commissioners will remain accessible on this site.


Environmental management systems in Victorian Government Strategic Audit 2012-13

On 25 March 2014 the strategic audit report Doing Sustainability was tabled in the Victorian Parliament by The Hon Ryan Smith MP, Minister for Environment and Climate Change More...

State of the Environment Report

State of the Environment report released 28 November 2013 More...